Bazaruto Archipelago

The Bazaruto Archipelago is a collection of six Mozambican islands located near the mainland city of Vilankulo. Bazaruto, Benguerra, Magaruque, Banque, Santa Carolina (also known as Paradise Island), and Shell are among the islands that make up the archipelago. Nyati Island lies further south. The group is from the districts of Vilanculos and Inhassoro in Inhambane Province. The islands were produced by sand dumped by the Save River, which has since changed course. Santa Carolina is a genuine rock island with deep canals that is only 3 km by 0.5 km in size. It features three gorgeous beaches with coral reefs close to the shore. It is also known as Paradise Island and is regarded as the “jewel” of the Bazaruto Archipelago, which has been designated as a marine national park. Sandy beaches, coral reefs, surfing and fishing are among the tourist attractions.