Phuket Islands

Phuket is one of Thailand’s southernmost provinces. It is made up of the country’s largest island, Phuket, plus 32 smaller islands off its coast. It is located in the Andaman Sea, off the west coast of Thailand. Phuket province is Thailand’s second-smallest province, with an area of 576 km2, little less than that of Singapore. The island was on one of the principal trade routes between India and China and was regularly referenced in the records of foreign ships of Portuguese, French, Dutch, and English traders, but it was never colonized by a European force. Its prosperity was previously drawn from tin and rubber, but is currently earned from tourism.