Laccadive Sea Map

The Laccadive Sea, also known as the Lakshadweep Sea, is a body of water that separates India (including the Lakshadweep islands), the Maldives, and Sri Lanka. It is situated southwest of Karnataka, west of Kerala, and south of Tamil Nadu. This mild sea has a consistent water temperature throughout the year and is abundant in marine life, with the Gulf of Mannar alone harboring about 3,600 species. The important cities on the Laccadive Sea’s coast are Mangaluru, Kasaragod, Kannur, Kozhikode, Ponnani, Kochi, Alappuzha, Kollam, Thiruvananthapuram, Tuticorin, Colombo, and Malé. This sea is also bordered by Kanyakumari, the southernmost tip of peninsular India.