Map of Indian Ocean

The Indian Ocean is the world’s third-largest oceanic division, accounting for roughly 20% of the water on the planet’s surface. It is bordered to the north by Asia, to the west by Africa, and to the east by Australia. To the south, it is surrounded by the Southern Ocean or, depending on the term used, Antarctica. The Indian Ocean features several significant marginal or regional seas along its center, including the Arabian Sea, Laccadive Sea, Somali Sea, Bay of Bengal, and Andaman Sea.

Indian Ocean map