Prince Edward Islands

The Prince Edward Islands are two tiny, uninhabited South African territories in the subantarctic Indian Ocean. The islands are known as Marion Island and Prince Edward Island. The group’s islands have been designated as Special Nature Reserves under South African Environmental Management, therefore operations on the islands are limited to study and conservation management. In 2013, the area was designated as a marine protected area, which provided additional protection. The only people on the islands are the crew of the South African National Antarctic Programme’s meteorological and biological research station on Marion Island.