Scattered Islands in the Indian Ocean

The Scattered Islands in the Indian Ocean are made up of four small coral islands, an atoll, and a reef in the Indian Ocean, and have formed the 5th district of the French Southern and Antarctic Lands (TAAF), though sovereignty over parts or all of the Islands is disputed by Madagascar, Mauritius, and the Comoros. There has never been a permanent population on any of the islands. Two of the islands, Europa and Juan de Nova, as well as the Bassas da India atoll, are located in the Mozambique Channel west of Madagascar, while Tromelin is located around 450 kilometers east of Madagascar and the Glorioso Islands are located approximately 200 kilometers northwest of Madagascar.The Banc du Geyser, a mostly submerged reef considered part of the Glorioso Islands by France and the Comoros, is also in the Mozambique Channel. The islands have been designated as nature reserves.