Mayotte, formally the Department of Mayotte, is a French overseas department and region, as well as a single geographical collectivity. It is situated in the northern portion of the Mozambique Channel in the Indian Ocean, off the coast of Southeastern Africa, between Northwestern Madagascar and Northeastern Mozambique. Mayotte is comprised of two islands: Grande-Terre (or Maore) and Petite-Terre (or Pamanzi), as well as various islets in between. Mayotte is the most affluent territory in the Mozambique Channel, making it a popular immigration destination. According to official estimations from January 2022, Mayotte has a land size of 374 square kilometers with an extremely dense population of 800 people per square kilometer. Mamoudzou is the largest city and prefecture on Grande-Terre. The area is also known as Maore, after the local name of its major island.