Lamu Archipelago

The Lamu Archipelago is located in the Indian Ocean near Kenya’s northern coast. The islands are located near the Coast Province, between the towns of Lamu and Kiunga. They are included in the Lamu District. Pate Island, Manda Island, and Lamu Island are the largest of the islands. Kiwayu, which is a part of the Kiunga Marine National Reserve, and Manda Toto are some of the smaller islands. Lamu Town, on Lamu Island, is now the archipelago’s largest town. The town is listed on the UNESCO World Heritage List. Takwa and Manda Town and Shanga are among the archipelago’s most important archaeological/historical sites. Some have been partially excavated in recent years, revealing crucial new information on Swahili history and culture.