Zanzibar is an insular semi-autonomous province that joined Tanganyika to form the United Republic of Tanzania. It is an archipelago in the Indian Ocean, 25-50 kilometers off the coast of Tanzania, made up of several small islands and two large ones: Unguja (the largest island, known colloquially as Zanzibar) and Pemba Island. Zanzibar City, on the island of Unguja, serves as the country’s capital. Stone Town, its historic center, is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The main industries in Zanzibar are spices, raffia, and tourism. The islands are known for their cloves, nutmeg, cinnamon, and black pepper. As a result, the Zanzibar Archipelago and Tanzania’s Mafia Island are frequently referred to locally as the “Spice Islands.” Tourism in Zanzibar is a relatively new sector, fueled by government promotion.